Concert

C. & R. Schumann #3

Mendelssohn-Hensel - Schumann - Mendelssohn

22 – 23 April 2021

Cancelled

The first piano concerto composed by Clara Wieck (1835) before being Clara Schumann is the work of a sixteen year old girl, who is admired by Goethe and Liszt. A few years later, she wrote in her diary: “Once I thought I had creative talent, but now I have come back from it. A woman must not compose. None has ever been capable of it. Why should I be the exception?”. Performed here by the young piano prodigy Mariam Batsashvili, this concerto comes to us like a sublime fallen dream. 

Drafted in 1830 while Felix Mendelssohn was on an European tour in Rome, and completed in 1833, the so-called Italian Symphony No. 4 is considered, along with the Scottish Symphony, to be one of the highlights of the composer’s work. He writes that he found inspiration not in art itself, but in the ruins, the landscape, the joy of the nature of this country that dispenses happiness.

Along with Clara Schumann, Fanny Hensel born Mendelssohn – older sister of the famous composer – is one of the few female composers to have made a name for herself in the 19th century. Born into a middle-class family, nothing could predict her career and she had to cultivate her exceptional gift in private while her brother multiplied the concerts and tours. Her catalogue is rich with more than 450 works, including this overture for piano recently rediscovered on the occasion of the 150th anniversary of his death. It shows a musical inspiration close to the new German school, with harmonic audacities that naturally bring her closer to Richard Wagner.

 

The concert C. & R. Schumann #3 has been recorded and will be broadcasted:
- 13 May at 7 pm on Radio Fajet | 94.2 FM
- 17 May at 9 pm on radio Campus - Nancy | 99.6 FM
- 24 June at 6 pm on Accent 4 | 96.6 FM in Strasbourg, 98.8 FM in Sélestat and 90.4 FM in Colmar
- 27 June at 11 am on RCF Lorraine - Nancy | 93.7 FM

Lorraine National Opera Orchestra

Conductor

Marta Gardolińska

Piano

Mariam Batsashvili


Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel

Opening in C major

Clara Schumann

Piano Concerto No. 1 in A minor

Felix Mendelssohn

Italian Symphony

Calendar

  • Thu. 22 April 2021
    19:30
    Poirel Hall
    Cancelled
  • Fri. 23 April 2021
    20:30
    Poirel Hall
    Cancelled

See also

Concert

C. & R. Schumann #3

Mendelssohn-Hensel - Schumann - Mendelssohn

22 – 23 avril 2021

Annulé

Le premier concerto pour piano composé par Clara Wieck (1835) avant d’être Clara Schumann est l’oeuvre d’une adolescente de seize ans, qui fait l’admiration de Goethe et de Liszt. Quelques années plus tard, elle écrira dans son journal : “Autrefois, je croyais posséder un talent créateur mais j’en suis revenue. Une femme ne doit pas composer. Aucune n’en a jamais été́ capable. Pourquoi serais-je l’exception ?”. Interprété ici par la jeune pianiste prodige Mariam Batsashvili, ce concerto nous parvient comme un sublime rêve déchu. 

Ébauchée en 1830 alors que Felix Mendelssohn, en tournée européenne, faisait escale à Rome, et achevée en 1833, la Symphonie n°4 dite italienne est considérée avec la Symphonie écossaise comme l’un des sommets de l'œuvre du compositeur. Il écrit avoir trouvé l’inspiration non dans l'art lui-même, mais dans les ruines, les paysages, la gaieté de la nature de ce pays qui dispense le bonheur.

Avec Clara Schumann, Fanny Hensel née Mendelssohn - sœur aînée du célèbre compositeur - est l’une des rares compositrices à s’être forgé un nom au 19e siècle. Née dans une famille bourgeoise, rien ne la prédestinait à faire carrière et elle dut cultiver son don exceptionnel en privé tandis que son frère multipliait les concerts et tournées. Son catalogue est riche de plus de 450 œuvres, dont cette ouverture pour piano récemment redécouverte à l’occasion du 150e anniversaire de sa mort. Il témoigne d’une inspiration musicale proche de la nouvelle école allemande, avec des audaces harmoniques qui la rapprochent naturellement de Richard Wagner.

 

Le concert C. & R. Schumann #3 a fait l'objet d'une captation et sera diffusé : 
- le 13 mai à 19h sur Radio Fajet | 94.2 FM
- le 17 mai à 21h sur Radio Campus - Nancy | 99.6 FM
- le 24 juin à 18h sur Accent 4 | 96.6 FM sur Strasbourg, 98.8 FM sur Sélestat et 90.4 FM sur Colmar
- le 27 juin à 11h sur RCF Lorraine - Nancy | 93.7 FM

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine

Direction musicale

Marta Gardolińska

Piano

Mariam Batsashvili


Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel

Ouverture en do majeur

Clara Schumann

Concerto pour piano n°1 en la mineur

Felix Mendelssohn

Symphonie italienne 

Calendrier

  • Jeu. 22 avril 2021
    19:30
    Salle Poirel
    Annulé
  • Ven. 23 avril 2021
    20:30
    Salle Poirel
    Annulé
Dans le cadre de
C. & R. Schumann

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus