Concert

Proverbs

(The Unanswered Question)

01 Oct 2022 | 19 h 30

We know them to be masters of American repetitive music, through their collaborations with the choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker or their recent production of Philip Glass' Einstein on the Beach. For their first concert in Nancy, the musicians of Ictus join forces with the Opera's orchestra to explore some of minimalism's finest pages.

The concert presents four key 20th century works, chosen for their introspective qualities and strung together as if they were a single work.

Steve Reich's Tehilim forms the core of the programme, the centerpiece of an anthology of inventions, around which gravitate the genuine musical UFOs The Unanswered Question by Charles Ives and The Sinking of the Titanic by British composer Gavin Bryars.

In his famous piece Proverb for voice and ensemble, Steve Reich draws on a very brief text by the philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein: “How small a thought it takes to fill a whole life!” Such is the watchword of an evening in which music unfolds from almost nothing to become almost everything.

ICTUS Ensemble

Synergy Vocals

Opéra national de Lorraine Orchestra


Conductor

Tom De Cock


Charles Ives

The Unanswered Question (1908)

Steve Reich

Proverb (1955)

Gavin Bryars

The Sinking of the Titanic (1972)

Steve Reich

Tehilim (1981)


Co-production

Opéra national de Lorraine, festival Musica, CCAM – Scène nationale de Vandoeuvre

Calendar

  • Sat. 01 October 2022
    19:30
    Salle Poirel

Duration
1h10 without intermission

Prices
€ 8 - 20

Free seating

See also

Concert

Proverbs

(The Unanswered Question)

01 oct 2022 | 19 h 30

On les connaît maîtres des musiques répétitives américaines, à travers leurs collaborations avec la chorégraphe Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker ou leur récente production d’Einstein on the Beach de Philip Glass. Pour leur premier concert à Nancy, les musiciens d’Ictus s’associent aux pupitres de l’Orchestre de l’Opéra et explorent quelques-unes des plus belles pages du minimalisme.

Le concert présente quatre œuvres-clés du xxe siècle, choisies pour leurs qualités introspectives et enchaînées comme si elles n’étaient qu’un seul et même ouvrage.

Tehilim de Steve Reich constitue le cœur du programme, le noyau d’un florilège d’inventions, autour duquel viennent graviter les véritables OVNI musicaux que sont The Unanswered Question de Charles Ives ou The Sinking of the Titanic du britannique Gavin Bryars.

Dans sa célèbre pièce Proverb pour voix et ensemble, Steve Reich s’appuie sur un très bref texte du philosophe Ludwig Wittgenstein : « How small a thought it takes to fill a whole life ! » — Qu’elle est petite, la pensée qui peut remplir toute une vie ! C’est en somme le mantra d’une soirée lors de laquelle la musique se déploie à partir de presque rien pour devenir presque tout.

Ensemble ICTUS

Synergy Vocals

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine


Direction musicale

Tom De Cock


Charles Ives

The Unanswered Question (1908)

Steve Reich

Proverb (1955)

Gavin Bryars

The Sinking of the Titanic (1972)

Steve Reich

Tehilim (1981)


Coréalisation

Opéra national de Lorraine, festival Musica, CCAM – Scène nationale de Vandoeuvre

Calendrier

  • Sam. 01 octobre 2022
    19:30
    Salle Poirel

Durée
1h10 sans entracte

Tarif
€ 8 - 20

Placement libre

Dans le cadre de
Musica à Nancy

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus