Opera

Like
flesh

Sivan Eldar

28 Sept – 02 Oct 2022

We can say how Light and Water have loved each other, and from their desire a tree was born.
Like flesh

After marrying a lumberjack, a woman follows him into the forest, forgetting herself in a monotonous life devoid of desire, witnessing every day the sinister spectacle of nature's destruction. An encounter with a young female student who falls in love with her will rekindle her flame and change her life: her body will take root until it becomes a tree. Based on a libretto by the British playwright Cordelia Lynn, inspired by Ovid's Metamorphoses, Like flesh addresses the issue of the ecological crisis through the conflicting relationship between human beings and nature. Israeli composer Sivan Eldar lends this manifestation of nature a choral voice. With the complicity of Maxime Pascal at the head of the Opéra national de Lorraine Orchestra, she plants some sixty loudspeakers in the auditorium, scattered under the seats, as an invitation to the audience to lose itself in this forest of sound.

Like flesh marks the advent of a new generation of artists - librettists, composers, directors, conductors, etc. - who are using opera to express a sensitive, keen and uncompromising view of our world. But this chamber opera chooses to convey this message to future generations via the senses,  offering us an unprecedented sensory experience: thanks to IRCAM's technology and Augustin Muller's computer creation, Like flesh's immersive music plunges us into a fluid world, where the borders that usually separate beings are erased.

After directing an incandescent Julie by Philippe Boesmans, Silvia Costa returns to the Opéra national de Lorraine. Director, performer and visual artist, she transforms this contemporary fable into a performance that is in perpetual change thanks to Francesco D'Abbraccio's videos: like the water of a river that we seek to retain in our hands but which always escapes us.

The Like flesh project won the prestigious FEDORA prize. In an operatic landscape often drawn to the repertoire of the past, its world premiere at the Opéra de Lille in 2022 was hailed by the press as an important event, demonstrating the vitality of the operatic genre and its ability to take on a major social issue such as the Anthropocene. This revival at the Opéra national de Lorraine coincides with the creation of Rendez-vous près du feu by Mathieu Corajod and the installation of the Ephemeral Garden on the Place Stanislas, thus creating a moment conducive to reflection on the place of the human being in the world.

First performed at the Lille Opera, 21 January 2022

Co-commissioned by Opéra national de Lorraine, Opéra de Lille and Opéra Orchestre national Montpellier Occitanie

Coproduction
Opéra national de Lorraine, Opéra de Lille, Opéra Orchestre national Montpellier Occitanie, Opera Ballet Vlaanderen (Anvers) and IRCAM-Centre Pompidou

FEDORA Prize for Opera 2021


Libretto

Cordelia Lynn

Music

Sivan Eldar


Conductor

Maxime Pascal

Opéra national de Lorraine Orchestra


Stage direction and set design

Silvia Costa

Costumes

Laura Dondoli

Video

Francesco D’Abbraccio

Lighting

Andrea Sanson

Computer music production

IRCAM Augustin Muller

Computer music production

Florent Derex


The Woman / The Tree

Helena Rasker

The Forester / her husband

William Dazeley

The Student

Juliette Allen

The Forest

Hélène Fauchère, Emmanuelle Jakubek, Guilhem Terrail, Sean Clayton, Thill Mantero, Florent Baffi

.

Calendar

  • Wed. 28 September 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
  • Fri. 30 September 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
  • Sun. 02 October 2022
    15:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine

Duration
1h30 without intermission

Prices
€ 3 - 38


Performance in English, surtitled
All audiences from 11 years old

Dual-commentary visit Ephemeral Garden/Opera
Free : Friday 30 September at 3pm (Meeting point in front of the Hôtel de Ville)


15 minutes to get started
45 minutes before the start of the performance (free, on presentation of ticket)


The October 2 performance proposes a Sunday workshop. For more information, click here.

In the context of
Musica in Nancy

See also

Opéra

Like
flesh

Sivan Eldar

28 sept – 02 oct 2022

Nous pouvons dire comment Lumière et Eau se sont aimées, et de leur désir est né un arbre.
Like flesh

Après avoir épousé un bûcheron, une femme le suit dans la forêt, s’oubliant dans une vie monotone et sans désir, assistant chaque jour au spectacle sinistre de la destruction de la nature. La rencontre d’une jeune étudiante qui tombe amoureuse d’elle va rallumer sa flamme et changer sa vie : son corps va alors prendre racine jusqu’à devenir arbre. Sur un livret de la dramaturge britannique Cordelia Lynn inspiré des Métamorphoses d’Ovide, Like flesh aborde la question de la crise écologique à travers le rapport conflictuel des êtres humains à la nature. Cette nature, la compositrice israélienne Sivan Eldar lui offre une voix chorale. Avec la complicité de Maxime Pascal à la tête de l’Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine, elle plante dans la salle une soixantaine de haut-parleurs disséminés sous les fauteuils, comme une invitation au public à se perdre lui aussi dans cette forêt sonore.

Like flesh marque l'avènement d’une nouvelle génération d’artistes - librettiste, compositrice, metteuse en scène, chef d’orchestre… - qui s’emparent de l’opéra pour exprimer un regard sensible, aigu et sans concession sur notre monde. Mais ce message à l’usage des générations futures, cet opéra de chambre choisit de nous l’adresser par le biais du sensible, en nous faisant vivre une expérience sensorielle inédite : grâce à la technologie de l’IRCAM et à la réalisation informatique d’Augustin Muller, la musique immersive de Like flesh nous plonge dans un monde fluide, où s’effacent les frontières qui séparent habituellement les êtres.

Après avoir mis en scène une incandescente Julie de Philippe Boesmans, Silvia Costa revient à l’Opéra national de Lorraine. Metteuse en scène, performeuse, plasticienne, elle transfigure cette fable contemporaine en un spectacle qui est en perpétuel changement sous l’effet des vidéos de Francesco D’Abbraccio : comme l’eau d’une rivière que l’on tenterait de retenir entre nos mains mais qui toujours nous échapperait.

Le projet Like flesh a remporté le prestigieux prix FEDORA. Dans un paysage opératique souvent tourné vers le répertoire du passé, sa création mondiale à l’Opéra de Lille en 2022 a été saluée par la presse comme un événement important, attestant de la vitalité du genre lyrique et de sa capacité à s’emparer d’un sujet de société majeur comme l’Anthropocène. Cette reprise à l’Opéra national de Lorraine s’inscrit en résonance avec la création de Rendez-vous près du feu de Mathieu Corajod et l’installation du Jardin éphémère sur la place Stanislas, créant un moment propice à la réflexion pour envisager autrement la place de l’être humain dans le monde.

Créé à l’Opéra de Lille, le 21 janvier 2022

Co-commande Opéra national de Lorraine , Opéra de Lille et Opéra Orchestre national Montpellier Occitanie

Coproduction
Opéra national de Lorraine, Opéra de Lille, Opéra Orchestre national Montpellier Occitanie, Opera Ballet Vlaanderen (Anvers) et IRCAM-Centre Pompidou

Prix FEDORA pour l’Opéra 2021


Livret

Cordelia Lynn

Musique

Sivan Eldar


Direction musicale

Maxime Pascal

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine


Mise en scène et scénographie

Silvia Costa

Costumes

Laura Dondoli

Vidéo

Francesco D’Abbraccio

Lumières

Andrea Sanson

Réalisation informatique musicale IRCAM

Augustin Muller

Projection sonore

Florent Derex


La Femme / L’arbre

Helena Rasker

Le Forestier / son mari

William Dazeley

L’Étudiante

Juliette Allen

La Forêt

Hélène Fauchère, Emmanuelle Jakubek, Guilhem Terrail, Sean Clayton, Thill Mantero, Florent Baffi

.

Calendrier

  • Mer. 28 septembre 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
  • Ven. 30 septembre 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
  • Dim. 02 octobre 2022
    15:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine

Durée
1h30 sans entracte

Tarif
€ 3 - 38

Spectacle en anglais, surtitré
Tout public à partir de 11 ans

Visite à double-voix Jardin éphémère /Opéra
Gratuit le vendredi 30 septembre à 15h (Rendez-vous donné devant l'Hôtel de Ville)

Le quart d’heure pour comprendre
45 minutes avant le début du spectacle (gratuit, sur présentation du billet)

La représentation du 2 octobre propose un atelier du dimanche. Pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici

Dans le cadre de
Musica à Nancy

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus