Concert

C. & R. Schumann #3

Brahms - Schumann

22 – 23 April 2021

The First Piano Concerto, composed by Clara Wieck (1835) before she was Clara Schumann, is a sixteen-year-old girl's work, admired by both Goethe and Liszt. A few years later, she wrote in her diary: "I once believed I had creative talent, but I have given up that idea. A woman should not compose. None has ever been able to. Why should I be the exception?" Performed here by the young piano prodigy Mariam Batsashvili, this concerto comes to us like a sublime dream come true.

Robert Schumann composed his First Symphony (1841) in the bliss of the first months of his marriage. The piano having - in his own words - become too small to contain his ideas, it was time to move on to orchestral music and assert himself to the public. This so-called Spring Symphony marked a turning point in his career.

The Schumann couple had developed a deep friendship with Brahms, an emotional and artistic relationship that continued after Robert's death. The evening opens with Brahms' Tragic Overture (1880) like a gripping prologue to the story of Clara and Robert.

Lorraine National Opera Orchestra

Conductor

Jordan de Souza

Piano

Mariam Batsashvili


Johannes Brahms

Tragic Overture, Op. 81

Clara Schumann

Piano Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 7

Robert Schumann

Symphony No. 1 in B-flat major, Op. 38, known as The Spring Symphony

Calendar

  • Thu. 22 April 2021
    19:30
    Poirel Hall
    Book now
  • Fri. 23 April 2021
    20:30
    Poirel Hall
    Book now

See also

Concert

C. & R. Schumann #3

Brahms - Schumann

22 – 23 avril 2021

Le premier concerto pour piano composé par Clara Wieck (1835) avant d’être Clara Schumann est l’oeuvre d’une adolescente de seize ans, qui fait l’admiration de Goethe et de Liszt. Quelques années plus tard, elle écrira dans son journal : “Autrefois, je croyais posséder un talent créateur mais j’en suis revenue. Une femme ne doit pas composer. Aucune n’en a jamais été́ capable. Pourquoi serais-je l’exception ?” Interprété ici par la jeune pianiste prodige Mariam Batsashvili, ce concerto nous parvient comme un sublime rêve déchu.

Robert Schumann a composé sa Première Symphonie (1841) dans le bonheur des premiers mois du mariage. Le piano étant - selon ses propres mots - devenu trop étroit pour contenir ses idées, il était temps de passer à la musique orchestrale et de s’affirmer auprès du public. Cette symphonie dite du Printemps marque un tournant dans sa carrière.

Le couple Schumann avait noué avec Brahms une amitié profonde, une relation affective et artistique qui se prolongea après la mort de Robert. C’est à lui qu’il revient d’inaugurer cette soirée avec l’Ouverture tragique (1880), comme un prologue saisissant à l’histoire de Clara et Robert.

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine

Direction musicale

Jordan de Souza

Piano

Mariam Batsashvili


Johannes Brahms

Ouverture tragique, opus 81

Clara Schumann

Concerto pour piano n°1 en la mineur, opus 7

Robert Schumann

Symphonie n°1 en si bémol majeur, opus 38, dite Le Printemps

Calendrier

Dans le cadre de
C. & R. Schumann

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus