Concert

Cap sur l'Écosse

Horne - Beethoven - Mendelssohn

25 – 26 March 2021

Cancelled

As a prelude to The Turn of the Screw, this evening transports us into the fantastic atmosphere of Henry James' short story. Let's head north to Scotland, to its highlands and lakes bathed in light, where legends seem to be spared by civilisation.

Scottish composer David Horne's The Turn of the Tide (2006) is based on a painting by John Duncan - a white lady fascinated by the sea and who in turn fascinates us. A lover of Celtic legends, labelled a madman by some and a mystic by others, Duncan confessed to painting the melodies of the fairies he secretly heard. From his painting, Horne draws a music as tumultuous as the waves crashing on the rocks.

The concerto opus 61 was composed in 1806 by Beethoven for the virtuoso violinist Franz Clement, who created it at the Theater an der Wien. 1806 was the year of the composer's unofficial engagement to Therese von Brunswick. As a result, posterity perceives a form of romantic fullness and serenity in this concerto which creates a harmonious dialogue between soloist and orchestra, without opposing them. Disliked by the critics, this concerto, which celebrates the instrument's virtuosity, took its time to find its rightful place among Beethoven's masterpieces.

Mendelssohn's Third Symphony (1842) is among his best-known works. The composer found his chiaroscuro inspiration during a trip to Scotland, where he contemplated the ruins of Mary Stuart's castle, overgrown with ivy and brambles. For one evening, let us call Scotland this country where Nature regains its rightful place over History.

Lorraine National Opera Orchestra

Conductor

Marie Jacquot

Violin

Noah Bendix- Balgley


David Horne

The Turn of the Tide

Ludwig van Beethoven

Violin Concerto in D major, opus 61

Félix Mendelssohn

Symphony No. 3 in A minor, opus 56, so-called Scottish Symphony

Calendar

  • Thu. 25 March 2021
    19:30
    Poirel Hall
    Cancelled
  • Fri. 26 March 2021
    20:30
    Poirel Hall
    Cancelled

See also

Concert

Cap sur l'Écosse

Horne - Beethoven - Mendelssohn

25 – 26 mars 2021

Annulé

En prélude au Tour d’écrou, cette soirée nous introduit dans l’atmosphère fantastique de la nouvelle de Henry James. Mettons le cap au nord, vers l’Écosse, vers ses hautes terres et ses lacs baignés de lumière, où les légendes semblent épargnées par la civilisation.

The Turn of the Tide (2006) du compositeur écossais David Horne est inspiré d’un tableau de John Duncan - une dame blanche fascinée par la mer et qui nous fascine à son tour. Amoureux des légendes celtiques, traité de fou par les uns et de mystique par les autres, Duncan avouait peindre la mélodie des fées qu’il entendait secrètement. De sa peinture, Horne tire une musique tumultueuse comme les vagues fracassées sur la roche.

Le concerto opus 61 fut composé en 1806 par Beethoven pour le violoniste virtuose Franz Clement, qui le créa au Theater an der Wien. L’année 1806 est celle des fiançailles officieuses du compositeur avec Thérèse de Brunswick. Il n’en fallait pas moins pour que la postérité perçoive une forme de plénitude et de sérénité amoureuses dans ce concerto qui fait harmonieusement dialoguer soliste et orchestre en se gardant de les opposer. Boudé par la critique, ce concerto, qui célèbre la virtuosité de l’instrument, prit son temps pour trouver sa juste place parmi les chefs-d'œuvre de Beethoven.

La Troisième Symphonie de Mendelssohn (1842) figure au rang de ses ouvrages les plus connus. Le compositeur trouva son inspiration en clair-obscur lors d’un voyage en terre écossaise, dans la contemplation des ruines du château de Mary Stuart, envahi par le lierre et les ronces. Le temps d’une soirée, appelons donc Écosse ce pays où la nature reprend ses droits sur l’Histoire.

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine

Direction musicale

Marie Jacquot

Violon

Noah Bendix- Balgley


David Horne

The Turn of the Tide

Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto pour violon en ré majeur, opus 61

Félix Mendelssohn

Symphonie n°3 en la mineur, opus 56, dite écossaise

Calendrier

  • Jeu. 25 mars 2021
    19:30
    Salle Poirel
    Annulé
  • Ven. 26 mars 2021
    20:30
    Salle Poirel
    Annulé

Et aussi

COVID-19 : Modalités de remboursement

Retrouvez les modalités de remboursement des spectacles annulés sur ce lien

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus