Concert

Cap sur l'Écosse

Horne - Bruch - Mendelssohn

25 – 26 March 2021

As a prelude to The Turn of the Screw, this evening transports us into the fantastic atmosphere of Henry James' short story. Let's head north to Scotland, to its highlands and lakes bathed in light, where legends seem to be spared by civilisation.

Scottish composer David Horne's The Turn of the Tide (2006) is based on a painting by John Duncan - a white lady fascinated by the sea and who in turn fascinates us. A lover of Celtic legends, labelled a madman by some and a mystic by others, Duncan confessed to painting the melodies of the fairies he secretly heard. From his painting, Horne draws a music as tumultuous as the waves crashing on the rocks.

The magic continues in the song of the violin mingled with the harp in the Scottish Fantasy (1880). The magic of a traditional Scotland that Max Bruch only visited in his dreams. Perhaps the German composer's only mistake was to write a violin concerto at the age of twenty-eight, the success of which would eclipse the rest of his career in the eyes of posterity. Yet the traveler who is willing to climb the towering cliffs of his work will be rewarded with the discovery of breathtaking panoramas.

Mendelssohn's Third Symphony (1842) is among his best-known works. The composer found his chiaroscuro inspiration during a trip to Scotland, where he contemplated the ruins of Mary Stuart's castle, overgrown with ivy and brambles. For one evening, let us call Scotland this country where Nature regains its rightful place over History.

Lorraine National Opera Orchestra

Conductor

Marie Jacquot

Violin

Noah Bendix- Balgley


David Horne

The Turn of the Tide

Max Bruch

Scottish Fantasy in E flat major, opus 56

Félix Mendelssohn

Symphony No. 3 in A minor, opus 56, so-called Scottish Symphony

Calendar

  • Thu. 25 March 2021
    19:30
    Poirel Hall
    Book now
  • Fri. 26 March 2021
    20:30
    Poirel Hall
    Book now

See also

Concert

Cap sur l'Écosse

Horne - Bruch - Mendelssohn

25 – 26 mars 2021

En prélude au Tour d’écrou, cette soirée nous introduit dans l’atmosphère fantastique de la nouvelle de Henry James. Mettons le cap au nord, vers l’Écosse, vers ses hautes terres et ses lacs baignés de lumière, où les légendes semblent épargnées par la civilisation.

The Turn of the Tide (2006) du compositeur écossais David Horne est inspiré d’un tableau de John Duncan - une dame blanche fascinée par la mer et qui nous fascine à son tour. Amoureux des légendes celtiques, traité de fou par les uns et de mystique par les autres, Duncan avouait peindre la mélodie des fées qu’il entendait secrètement. De sa peinture, Horne tire une musique tumultueuse comme les vagues fracassées sur la roche.

La magie se prolonge dans le chant du violon mêlé à la harpe de la Fantaisie écossaise (1880). Magie d’une Écosse folklorique que Max Bruch ne visita qu’en rêve. Sans doute la seule erreur du compositeur allemand fut-elle d’écrire à vingt-huit ans un concerto pour violon dont le succès devait éclipser tout le reste de sa carrière aux yeux de la postérité. Pourtant, le voyageur qui voudra bien gravir l’imposante falaise de son oeuvre sera récompensé par la découverte de merveilleux panoramas.

La Troisième Symphonie de Mendelssohn (1842) figure au rang de ses ouvrages les plus connus. Le compositeur trouva son inspiration en clair-obscur lors d’un voyage en terre écossaise, dans la contemplation des ruines du château de Mary Stuart, envahi par le lierre et les ronces. Le temps d’une soirée, appelons donc Écosse ce pays où la nature reprend ses droits sur l’Histoire.

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine

Direction musicale

Marie Jacquot

Violon

Noah Bendix- Balgley


David Horne

The Turn of the Tide

Max Bruch

Fantaisie écossaise en mi bémol majeur, opus 56

Félix Mendelssohn

Symphonie n°3 en la mineur, opus 56, dite écossaise

Calendrier

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus