Opera

Julie

Boesmans

27 March – 01 April 2022

Book now
I’m sitting on top of a pillar
which I climbed in a dream
and I don’t know how to come down anymore.
JULIE

Mademoiselle Julie is crazy tonight. She’s dancing with the servants. She’s also dancing with Jean, her father’s valet, right under the nose of his fiancée Kristin. She dances but the game of seduction gradually turns into a duel, and its outcome will prove to be fatal.

Who is Julie? Is she a bird in a cage? Is she the embodiment of innocence sacrificed on the altar of moral hypocrisy? Is she an enchantress who manipulates two pure human beings to satisfy her urges on that night when death paid a visit on life?

Under the misleading title of a naturalist tragedy, Strindberg’s drama is a “Mean Machine” which crushes its characters. His theatre advances along the fine line that separates the real from the fantastic. It is like those Midsummer nights when, if you fall asleep on the cool grass, your dreams become reality.

The composer Philippe Boesmans is one of the most respected and highly acclaimed figures in opera today. Long in residence at the Théâtre Royal de La Monnaie in Brussels, he has been a major player in the creation of modern European opera. His music—which never skimps on refinement or the joys of storytelling and fiction—focuses his expressiveness firmly on the drama to reveal the lies and the things that are obscured or unspoken. First performed in 2005, his profound Julie is one of the most intense and polished pieces of the last twenty years. It is conducted by Emilio Pomarico, an ardent defender of the contemporary repertoire.

A performer, director and visual artist, Silvia Costa explores this recent opera and offers us a new vision. Behind the castle’s chipped veneer, she brings to light the rituals and the raw existence; the dance of death by which bodies yield to—or resist—one another to their ultimate destruction. When dawn breaks, it is tinged with the bitter taste of lucidity: a wound which according to René Char is closest to the sun.

Julie, opera in one act
First Performed at La Monnaie/De Munt in Bruxelles, the 8 March 2005

New production Opéra national de Lorraine
Coproduction Opéra de Dijon

Libretto
Luc Bondy and Marie-Louise Bischofberger from Mademoiselle Julie by August Strindberg

Music
Philippe Boesmans

 

Conductor

Emilio Pomarico

Orchestra and Chorus of the Opéra national de Lorraine


Director and set designer

Silvia Costa

Collaboration to the sets

Michele Taborelli

Costumes

Laura Dondoli

Lighting design

Marco Giusti

Dramaturgy

Simon Hatab

Director assistant

Rosabel Huguet


Julie

Irene Roberts
and Marie Tassin (Julie dancing)

 
Jean

Dean Murphy

Kristin

Lisa Mostin

Calendar

  • Sun. 27 March 2022
    15:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Book now
  • Tue. 29 March 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Book now
  • Thu. 31 March 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Book now
  • Fri. 01 April 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Book now

The performance on Sunday 27 March at 3 p.m. offers a Sunday workshop.

Duration
75 minutes without interval

Performed in german, with subtitles
Open to all aged 11 and above

Conference 
1 hour before the start of the performance (free, upon presentation of ticket)

The Sound of Tomorrow
Staging an opera: a controversial question?
An in-depth discussion focused on the season’s female characters: Pamina, Ariadne, Julie and Floria Tosca
Speaker Christian Merlin
Saturday, January 22 – 11 am
(free event)

See also

Opéra

Julie

Boesmans

27 mars – 01 avril 2022

Je suis assise en haut d’un pilier
que j’ai escaladé en rêve
et je ne sais plus descendre.
JULIE

Mademoiselle Julie est folle ce soir. Elle danse avec les domestiques. Elle danse aussi avec Jean, le valet de son père, au nez et à la barbe de sa fiancée Kristin. Elle danse mais le jeu de séduction se mue peu à peu en duel dont l’issue s’avère fatale.

Qui est Julie ? Est-elle un oiseau en cage ? Est-elle l’innocence sacrifiée sur l’autel de la morale hypocrite ? Est-elle une ensorceleuse qui manipule deux êtres purs pour assouvir ses pulsions, en cette nuit où la mort rend visite à la vie ?

Sous le titre trompeur de tragédie naturaliste, le drame de Strindberg est une « Méchante Machine » à broyer ses personnages. Son théâtre avance sur l’étroite frontière qui sépare le réel du fantastique. Il est à l’image des nuits de Saint-Jean durant lesquelles, si l’on s’endort sur l’herbe fraîche, les rêves deviennent réalité.

Le compositeur Philippe Boesmans est l’une des figures les plus respectées et plébiscitées de l’opéra aujourd’hui. Longtemps en résidence au Théâtre Royal de La Monnaie à Bruxelles, il a contribué aux temps forts de la création lyrique européenne. Sa musique - qui ne refuse ni le raffinement ni le plaisir du récit et de la fiction - met son expressivité au service du drame, dont elle révèle les ombres, les non-dits et les mensonges. Créée en 2005, son intime Julie est l’une des pièces les plus intenses et ciselées de ces vingt dernières années. Elle est dirigée par Emilio Pomarico, ardent défenseur du répertoire contemporain.

Performeuse, metteuse en scène et plasticienne, Silvia Costa s’empare de cet opéra récent pour en livrer une nouvelle vision. Sous le vernis écaillé de ce château, elle met à jour le rituel, l’existence nue, la danse de mort par laquelle les corps se donnent et se refusent l’un à l’autre jusqu’à leur destruction. Quand l’aube paraît, elle a le goût amer de la lucidité : cette blessure qui est - selon René Char - la plus proche du soleil.

Julie, opéra en un acte
Créé à La Monnaie/De Munt à Bruxelles, le 8 mars 2005

Nouvelle production Opéra national de Lorraine
Coproduction Opéra de Dijon

Livret
Luc Bondy et Marie-Louise Bischofberger d’après Mademoiselle Julie d’August Strindberg

Musique
Philippe Boesmans

 

Direction musicale

Emilio Pomarico

Orchestre et Chœur de l’Opéra national de Lorraine


Mise en scène et décors

Silvia Costa

Collaboration aux décors

Michele Taborelli

Costumes

Laura Dondoli

Lumières

Marco Giusti

Dramaturgie

Simon Hatab

Assistanat à la mise en scène

Rosabel Huguet


Julie

Irene Roberts
et Marie Tassin (Julie qui danse)

 
Jean

Dean Murphy

Kristin

Lisa Mostin

Calendrier

  • Dim. 27 mars 2022
    15:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Réserver
  • Mar. 29 mars 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Réserver
  • Jeu. 31 mars 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Réserver
  • Ven. 01 avril 2022
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Réserver

La représentation du dimanche 27 mars à 15h propose un atelier du dimanche. 

Durée 
1h15 sans entracte

Spectacle en allemand, surtitré
Tout public à partir de 11 ans

Conférence 
1h avant le début du spectacle (gratuit, sur présentation du billet)

Le Son de demain
Mettre en scène un opéra : une question qui fâche ?
Intervenant Christian Merlin
Samedi 2 avril - 11h
(gratuit, entrée libre)

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus