Opera

Le Voyage dans la Lune

Offenbach

20 – 28 January 2021

You need only look at it to convince yourself - a conviction now shared by all scientists - that the Earth is completely uninhabitable.
THE JOURNEY TO THE MOON

Spurred on by the success of Jules Verne's extraordinary journeys, Offenbach created this fairy-tale opera in 1875: to please his son the prince, the aptly named Caprice, King Vlan undertakes to travel to the Moon in a shell fired from a cannon. Of course, nothing happens as planned, and the adventure on the supposedly uninhabited star soon becomes a series of situations as incredible as they are absurd.

Behind the folly and exuberance, Offenbach's music conceals a secret nostalgia. And it may well be that, deep down, this journey is a pretext to contemplate our certainties and excesses from the perspective of a Moon-dweller observing our planet. One thinks of the words of Will Anders, a passenger on the Apollo 8 mission: "We came all this way to see the Moon and we discovered the Earth."

It wasn't long before cinema embraced interstellar travel as one of its most prolific obsessions, from Georges Méliès to James Gray. For the time being Offenbach captures this theme and tries to confine it to the dimensions of the stage. The result is a spectacular fantasy involving a take-off and a moon landing, an erupting volcano, a glass palace with mother-of-pearl galleries, trapdoors, fireworks and a camel borrowed from the Jardin d'Acclimatation.

 

A century and a half of science fiction later, director Olivier Fredj has chosen to show the reverse side of this theatre of special effects. Collaborating with the illustrator Jean Lecointre, he invites us on a vast film set that creates illusions before our very eyes, in tribute to the infinite power of imagination.

Le Voyage dans la Lune, Opéra-féerie in four acts and twenty-three tableaux
Created at the Théâtre de la Gaîté in Paris, 26 October 1875

New production 
Coproduction
 Opéra national de Lorraine, Centre Français de Promotion Lyrique, Grand Avignon Opera, Clermont Auvergne Opera, Imperial Theatre of Compiègne, Limoges Opera, Marseille Opera, Massy Opera, Opera-Theatre of Metz Métropole, Opéra Orchestre national Montpellier Occitanie, Opéra de Nice, Opéra de Reims, Opéra de Rouen Normandie, Opéra de Toulon Provence Méditerranée, Opéra de Tours, Opéra de Vichy, Avant-Scène Opéra/ Neuchâtel and Palazzetto Bru Zane

With the support of Mécénat de la Caisse des Dépôts, the Ministry of Culture and the Orange Foundation, in partnership with France Musique

Libretto Albert Vanloo, Eugène Leterrier et Arnold Mortier d'après Jules Verne

Music Jacques Offenbach

 

Conductor

Chloé Dufresne

Orchestra and Chorus of Lorraine National Opera


Directed by

Olivier Fredj

Artistic Director

Jean Lecointre

Decorations and Costumes

Malika Chauveau

Lighting

Nathalie Perrier

Choreography

Anouk Viale

Assistant director

Maud Morillon


Fantasia

Jeanne Crousaud

Flamma

Jennifer Michel

La Reine Popotte

Cécile Galois

Le Prince Caprice

Marie Perbost

Le Roi Vlan

Jérôme Boutillier

Le Roi Cosmos

Erick Freulon

Le Prince Quipasseparla

Kaëlig Boché

Microscope

Raphaël Brémard

Cactus

Pierre-Antoine Chaumien

With the support of

Calendar

  • Wed. 20 January 2021
    20:00
    National Opera of Lorraine
    Book now
  • Fri. 22 January 2021
    20:00
    National Opera of Lorraine
    Book now
  • Sun. 24 January 2021
    15:00
    National Opera of Lorraine
    Book now
  • Tue. 26 January 2021
    20:00
    National Opera of Lorraine
    Book now
  • Thu. 28 January 2021
    20:00
    National Opera of Lorraine
    Book now

The performance on Sunday January 24 at 3 p.m. offers a Sunday workshop and will be available with audio-description.

Duration
2h40 with interval
performed in French, with surtitles

Conference
1 hour before the start of the performance (free, on presentation of the ticket)

Gallery

See also

Opéra

Le Voyage dans la Lune

Offenbach

20 – 28 janvier 2021

Il suffit d’y jeter un coup d’œil pour se faire une conviction, qui est maintenant celle de tous les hommes de science : c’est que la Terre est complètement inhabitable.
- LE VOYAGE DANS LA LUNE

Propulsé par le succès des voyages extraordinaires de Jules Verne, Offenbach crée en 1875 cet opéra-féerie : le Roi Vlan, pour faire plaisir à son prince de fils, le bien nommé Caprice, entreprend de voyager jusqu’à la Lune dans un obus tiré par un canon. Bien sûr, rien ne se passe comme prévu, et l’aventure sur l’astre censément inhabité devient une suite de situations aussi invraisemblables qu’abracadabrantes.

Sous la folie et l’exubérance, la musique d’Offenbach dissimule une nostalgie secrète. Et il se pourrait bien qu’au fond, ce voyage soit prétexte à contempler nos certitudes et nos excès avec le recul d’un Sélénite observant notre planète. On songe aux mots de Will Anders, passager de la mission Apollo 8 : “Nous avons fait tout ce chemin pour voir la Lune et nous avons découvert la Terre.”

Le cinéma ne tardera pas à s’emparer du voyage interstellaire pour en faire - de Georges Méliès à James Gray - l’une de ses obsessions les plus prolifiques. Pour l’heure, Offenbach capture ce thème et tente de le contenir dans les dimensions de la scène. Il en résulte une fantaisie spectaculaire impliquant un décollage et un alunissage, un volcan en éruption, un palais de verre et des galeries de nacre, des trappes, des artifices et un dromadaire emprunté au jardin d'acclimatation.

Un siècle et demi de science-fiction plus tard, le metteur en scène Olivier Fredj choisit de montrer l’envers de ce théâtre d’effets spéciaux. Collaborant avec l’illustrateur Jean Lecointre, il nous invite sur un vaste plateau de tournage qui fabrique les illusions à vue, pour mieux rendre hommage au pouvoir infini de l’imagination.

Le Voyage dans la Lune, opéra-féerie en quatre actes et vingt-trois tableaux
Créé au Théâtre de la Gaîté à Paris, le 26 octobre 1875

Nouvelle production 
Coproduction
 Opéra national  de Lorraine, le Centre Français de Promotion Lyrique, l’Opéra Grand Avignon, Clermont Auvergne Opéra, le Théâtre impérial de Compiègne, l’Opéra de Limoges, l’Opéra de Marseille, l’Opéra de Massy, l’Opéra-Théâtre de Metz Métropole, l’Opéra Orchestre national Montpellier Occitanie, l’Opéra de Nice, l’Opéra de Reims, l’Opéra de Rouen Normandie, l’Opéra de Toulon Provence Méditerranée, l’Opéra de Tours, l’Opéra de Vichy, l’Avant-Scène Opéra/ Neuchâtel et les Éditions musicales du Palazzetto Bru Zane

Avec le soutien du Ministère de la Culture, du Mécénat de la Caisse des Dépôts et de la Fondation Orange, en partenariat avec France Musique

Livret Albert Vanloo, Eugène Leterrier et Arnold Mortier d'après Jules Verne

Musique Jacques Offenbach

 

Direction musicale

Chloé Dufresne

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine

Chœur de l’Opéra national de Lorraine


Mise en scène

Olivier Fredj

Direction artistique

Jean Lecointre

Décors et Costumes

Malika Chauveau

Lumières

Nathalie Perrier

Chorégraphie

Anouk Viale

Assistanat à la mise en scène

Maud Morillon


Fantasia

Jeanne Crousaud

Flamma

Jennifer Michel

La Reine Popotte

Cécile Galois

Le Prince Caprice

Marie Perbost

Le Roi Vlan

Jérôme Boutillier

Le Roi Cosmos

Erick Freulon

Le Prince Quipasseparla

Kaëlig Boché

Microscope

Raphaël Brémard

Cactus

Pierre-Antoine Chaumien

Avec le soutien de

Calendrier

  • Mer. 20 janvier 2021
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Réserver
  • Ven. 22 janvier 2021
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Réserver
  • Dim. 24 janvier 2021
    15:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Réserver
  • Mar. 26 janvier 2021
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Réserver
  • Jeu. 28 janvier 2021
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
    Réserver

La représentation du dimanche 24 janvier à 15h propose un atelier du dimanche et sera proposée au audiodescription

Durée
2h40 avec entracte
Spectacle en français, surtitré

Conférence
1h avant le début du spectacle (gratuit, sur présentation du billet)

Galerie

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus