Concert

Voyage en Italie

Tchaïkovsky – Respighi - Berlioz

03 – 04 June 2021

As we prepare for Rigoletto, this concert is an invitation to continue our travels to the land of Verdi. A journey in the footsteps of Tchaikovsky who composed his highly popular Capriccio Italien (1880) in the atmosphere of the Rome carnival: enchanted, in his own words, by the spontaneous joy of the crowd who needed neither vodka nor wine to celebrate. Taking popular melodies from books or from the street, this Capriccio is a travel diary whose every page affords us a glimpse of masks and lights, festivities and shadows.

Rome again, with Respighi's symphonic poem (1916) dedicated to the city's fountains. The city of seven hills seems to sprinkle us with its insolent beauty as we stroll down an alleyway or wander through a square. From dawn in the Val Julia to sunset on the heights of the Villa Medicis, the day seems to become eternal.

With Harold in Italy (1834) Berlioz offers us a work midway between symphony and concerto: like a solitary wanderer, the viola - this evening David Gaillard - mingles with the orchestra without ever disowning its own character. Berlioz composed this work at the request of Paganini, who was impressed by his Symphonie fantastique and commissioned it to try out the Stradivarius viola the virtuoso violinist had just acquired. Inspired by Byron's poem, Harold in Italy allows us to linger one last time in the Abruzzi. What if we didn't come home?

Lorraine National Opera Orchestra

Conductor

Jean-Marie Zeitouni

 

Viola

David Gaillard


Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovsky

Capriccio Italien in A major, opus 45

Ottorino Respighi

Fountains of Rome

Hector Berlioz

Harold in Italy, opus 16

Calendar

  • Thu. 03 June 2021
    19:30
    Poirel Hall
    Book now
  • Fri. 04 June 2021
    20:30
    Poirel Hall
    Book now

See also

Concert

Voyage en Italie

Tchaïkovsky – Respighi - Berlioz

03 – 04 juin 2021

Autour de Rigoletto, ce concert est une invitation à poursuivre le voyage au pays de Verdi. Voyage sur les traces de Tchaïkovsky qui composa son très populaire Capriccio italien (1880) dans l’ambiance du carnaval de Rome : enchanté, selon ses propres mots, par la joie spontanée de cette foule qui n’avait besoin ni de vodka ni de vin pour faire la fête. Piochant des mélodies populaires dans les livres ou dans la rue, ce Capriccio est un carnet de voyage dont chacune des pages nous laisse entrevoir les masques et les feux, la fête et les ombres.

Rome, toujours, avec Respighi qui dédia un poème symphonique (1916) à ses fontaines. Fontaines par lesquelles la Ville aux sept collines semble, au détour d’une ruelle ou au hasard d’une place, nous éclabousser de sa beauté insolente. De l’aube au Val Julia jusqu’au coucher du soleil sur les hauteurs de la Villa Medicis, cette journée prend des allures d’éternité.

Avec Harold en Italie (1834), Berlioz nous offre une oeuvre à mi-chemin de la symphonie et du concerto : tel un promeneur solitaire, l’alto - ce soir, David Gaillard - se mêle à l’orchestre sans jamais renier son caractère propre. Berlioz composa cette oeuvre à la demande de Paganini, impressionné par sa Symphonie fantastique, qui la lui commanda pour éprouver l’alto Stradivarius que le violoniste virtuose venait d’acquérir. Inspiré d’un poème de Byron, Harold en Italie nous permet de nous attarder une dernière fois dans les Abruzzes. Et si l’on ne rentrait pas ?

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine

Direction musicale

Jean-Marie Zeitouni

 

Alto

David Gaillard


Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovsky

Capriccio Italien en la majeur, opus 45

Ottorino Respighi

Fontaines de Rome

Hector Berlioz

Symphonie Harold en Italie, opus 16

Calendrier

  • Jeu. 03 juin 2021
    19:30
    Salle Poirel
  • Ven. 04 juin 2021
    20:30
    Salle Poirel

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus