Concert

Une Nuit romantique

Schubert - Brahms - Rheinberger

22 November 2020 | 15 h 00

"I love the dark hours of my being when my senses deepen..." When Rilke wrote these words in 1899, he was closing the book of a romantic century fascinated more than any other by the night: that night in which the artists draped themselves to enter into contact with their inner selves.

As a prelude, Schubert's Die Nacht invites us to raise our eyes to contemplate the stars shining in the celestial expanses. A moment of grace that is prolonged by Brahms' O schöne Nacht, a night of love whose gentleness touches the listener.

When he composed the Liebeslieder-Walzer, Brahms had left his native Hamburg for Vienna, where he gradually fell in love with the spirit of the city. These pieces are intended as a double homage to Schubert and Strauss. The late Zigeunerlieder were composed on his return from Hungary. They are love songs inspired by the gypsy repertoire. The composer of the Hungarian Dances seems to have turned his back somewhat on folklore in favour of a more secret and mysterious feeling.

Recently rediscovered, the German composer Josef Rheinberger (1839-1901) was undoubtedly somewhat forgotten for not being fully in tune with his times. It is true that he was more inspired by the musicians of the past - Bach, Mozart - than by his contemporaries. Im Erdenraum and Die Nacht give us a glimpse of this music that felt a little out of place in its era.

Lorraine National Opera Chorus

Chorus master

Guillaume Fauchère


Franz Schubert

Die Nacht, D.983

Johannes Brahms

O schöne Nacht, opus 92

Liebeslieder Walzer, opus 52

 
Josef Rheinberger

Im Erdenraum, opus 131/4

Die Nacht, opus 56

Zigeunerlieder, opus 103

Johannes Brahms

Calendar

  • Sun. 22 November 2020
    15:00
    National Opera of Lorraine

See also

Concert

Une Nuit romantique

Schubert - Brahms - Rheinberger

22 novembre 2020 | 15 h 00

“J’aime les heures sombres de mon être où s’approfondissent mes sens...” Lorsqu’en 1899, Rilke note ces mots, il referme le livre d’un siècle romantique plus que tout autre fasciné par la nuit : cette nuit dans laquelle se sont drapés les artistes pour nouer contact avec leur Moi profond.


En guise de prélude, Schubert nous invite avec Die Nacht à lever les yeux pour contempler les étoiles qui brillent dans les champs célestes. Un instant de grâce que prolonge O schöne Nacht de Brahms, nuit d’amour qui touche l’auditeur par sa douceur.


Lorsqu’il compose les Liebeslieder-Walzer, Brahms a quitté son Hambourg natal pour Vienne, où il s’est peu à peu laissé gagner par l’esprit de la ville. Ces pièces se veulent un double hommage à Schubert et à Strauss. Quant aux tardifs Zigeunerlieder, ils ont été composés à son retour de Hongrie. Il s’agit de chants d’amour qui puisent l’inspiration dans le répertoire tzigane. Le compositeur des Danses hongroises semble quelque peu tourner le dos au folklore au profit d’un sentiment plus secret et mystérieux.


Redécouvert il y a peu, le compositeur allemand Josef Rheinberger (1839-1901) fut sans doute quelque peu oublié pour ne pas s’être inscrit de plain-pied dans son époque. Il est vrai qu’il s’avouait davantage inspiré par les musiciens du passé - Bach, Mozart - que par ses contemporains. Im Erdenraum et Die Nacht donnent à entendre cette musique qui se sentit à l’étroit dans son temps.

    Chœur de l’Opéra national de Lorraine

Chef de choeur

Guillaume Fauchère


Franz Schubert

Die Nacht, D.983

Johannes Brahms

O schöne Nacht, opus 92

Liebeslieder Walzer, opus 52

 
Josef Rheinberger

Im Erdenraum, opus 131/4

Die Nacht, opus 56

Zigeunerlieder, opus 103

Johannes Brahms

Calendrier

  • Dim. 22 novembre 2020
    15:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus