Opera

Les Voix de Nancy - NOX#1

09 – 14 March 2021

As of the 2020-2021 season, the Opéra national de Lorraine is setting up a lyric creation laboratory with the NOX (Nancy Opera Xperience). Its aim is to rethink the way an opera is produced by inviting artists to work over the long term, in an informal dialogue, elaborating a production in close association with the region. The result of the NOX is an experience that we wish to share with the public. For its first edition, we took as our starting point a very direct question we put to the inhabitants of Nancy: "Are you in love?".

"Every story is a melody, every melody is a story.”
PAUL BRODY

This is an opera about love. Like many operas, you might say? Except that this is not about a countess and her page, or a singer and a painter, or a womanizer with a thousand and three conquests, or any of the other characters who usually tread the stage. The stories in question here involve anonymous people whose only common denominator is that they live in the city of Nancy.

From the summer of 2019 to the winter of 2020, sound director Chloé Kobuta walked the streets of Nancy, collecting amusing, sad, tragic, tender, passionate, trivial or unusual stories from those whose paths she crossed:night birds haunting the streets of the Old Town, octogenarians dancing in the Pépinière park, taxi drivers navigating the boulevards, old ladies shopping at the supermarket or young mothers walking their children... All of them confided in the woman who describes herself, in her own words, as a "divulger of stories".

Composer Paul Brody has made the spoken word his playground. He is interested in the invisible music that hides beneath our every phrase: that intimate melody that reveals our emotional state, our origins, our past travels or our family history. For this creation, he collaborates with stage director Kevin Barz, whose original work is rooted in a profound reading of the music.

A mobile orchestra of flexible dimensions accompanies these stories which are performed on the stage or in the forecourt, in the main auditorium, the foyer, the corridors or the stairwells of the building. The strolling spectator is invited to take turns playing witness, confessor or voyeur to the secret dramas of his fellow human beings. For the space of an evening, the opera resembles a public squares or a crowded rush-hour metro station: those places in our urban mythology where thousands of destinies unknowingly cross paths every day.

Les Voix de Nancy - opéra interview
Nancy Opera Xperience #1
World premiere
Created
on 9 March 2021 at the Opéra national de Lorraine
New production

 

Music and conception

Paul Brody

Texts
 

Chloé Kobuta, based on interviews of inhabitants of Nancy conducted in collaboration with Alexandra Levinger


Conductor

Jonathan Stockhammer

Orchestra and Chorus of Lorraine National Opera


Directors

Kevin Barz

Sets

Lisa Navarro

Lighting

Henning Streck  


With

Guillaume Andrieux, Lionel Peintre, Pauline Sikirdji, Léa Trommenschlager

Calendar

  • Tue. 09 March 2021
    20:00
    National Opera of Lorraine
  • Wed. 10 March 2021
    20:00
    National Opera of Lorraine
  • Thu. 11 March 2021
    20:00
    National Opera of Lorraine
  • Fri. 12 March 2021
    20:00
    National Opera of Lorraine
  • Sun. 14 March 2021
    15:00
    National Opera of Lorraine

TUE 11 - 20h
Student evening

Duration

1h30 without interval
Strolling performance in French. Group departures at staggered times (the exact departure time will be indicated on each ticket).

Conference
1 hour before the start of the performance (free, on presentation of the ticket)

See also

Opéra

Les Voix de Nancy - NOX#1

09 – 14 mars 2021

À partir de la saison 2020-2021, l’Opéra national de Lorraine se dote avec le NOX (Nancy Opera Xperience) d’un laboratoire de création lyrique. Son but est de repenser le mode de production d’un opéra en invitant les artistes à travailler à long terme, dans un dialogue intime, en élaborant un spectacle en étroite connexion avec le territoire. Le résultat du NOX est une expérience que nous souhaitons partager avec le public. Pour sa première édition, nous sommes partis d’une question directe que nous avons posée aux habitants de Nancy : “Est-ce que vous êtes amoureux ?”

Chaque histoire est une mélodie,
chaque mélodie est une histoire.
- PAUL BRODY

C’est un opéra qui parle d’amour. Comme beaucoup d’opéras, direz-vous ? Sauf qu’il ne s’agit ni d’une comtesse et de son page, ni d’une cantatrice et d’un peintre, ni d’un séducteur aux mille et trois conquêtes, ni d’aucune autre de ces figures qui occupent habituellement la scène. Les histoires dont il est question ici mettent en jeu des anonymes qui ont pour seul point commun d’habiter la ville de Nancy.

De l’été 2019 à l’hiver 2020, la réalisatrice sonore Chloé Kobuta a arpenté Nancy, recueillant les récits drôles, tristes, tragiques, tendres, passionnés, banals ou extraordinaires de celles et ceux dont elle croisait le chemin : oiseaux de nuit qui hantent les rues de la Vieille-Ville, octogénaires dansant au parc de la Pépinière, chauffeur de taxi naviguant sur les boulevards, vieille dame qui fait ses courses au supermarché ou jeune mère promenant son enfant… Tous se sont confiés à celle qui se qualifie, selon ses propres mots, d’ « ébruiteuse d’histoires ».

Le compositeur Paul Brody a fait de la voix parlée son terrain de jeu. Il s’intéresse à la musique invisible qui se cache sous chacune de nos phrases : cette mélodie intime qui révèle notre état émotionnel, nos origines, nos voyages passés ou notre histoire familiale. Il collabore pour cette création avec les metteurs en scène David Marton et Kevin Barz, dont le travail original s’enracine dans une lecture profonde de la musique.

Un orchestre mobile à géométrie variable accompagne ces histoires qui se jouent aussi bien sur la scène ou le parvis, dans la grande salle, le foyer, les couloirs ou les cages d'escalier du bâtiment. Le spectateur en mouvement est invité à se faire tour à tour témoin, confident ou voyeur des drames secrets de ses semblables. L’opéra devient alors, le temps d’une soirée, pareil à ces places publiques ou stations de métro bondées aux heures de pointe : ces lieux de notre mythologie urbaine où se croisent, chaque jour, sans le savoir, des milliers de destins.

Les Voix de Nancy, Opera interview
Création mondiale
Créé
 le 9 mars 2021 à l’Opéra national de Lorraine
Nouvelle production

 

Musique et conception

Paul Brody

Textes
 

Interviews de nancéiens menées et retranscrites
par Chloé Kobuta 


Direction musicale

Jonathan Stockhammer

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lorraine

Chœur de l’Opéra national de Lorraine


Mise en scène & vidéo

David Marton & Kevin Barz

Décors

Lisa Navarro

Costumes

nn

Lumières

Henning Streck  

Etudiante en anthropologie

Alexandra Levinger


Soprano

Léa Trommenschlager

Baryton

Guillaume Andrieux

Baryton

Lionel Peintre

Mezzo soprano

Pauline Sikirdji

Calendrier

  • Mar. 09 mars 2021
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
  • Mer. 10 mars 2021
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
  • Jeu. 11 mars 2021
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
  • Ven. 12 mars 2021
    20:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine
  • Dim. 14 mars 2021
    15:00
    Opéra national de Lorraine

JEU 11 - 20h
Soirée étudiante

La représentation du dimanche 14 mars à 15h propose un atelier du dimanche

Durée
1h30 sans entracte
Spectacle en français, surtitré

Conférence
1h avant le début du spectacle (gratuit, sur présentation du billet)

Et aussi

Cookies

En continuant à naviguer sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus